Department of Media and Communication Studies

Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty is composed of three departments, with a curriculum with seven tracks and eight programs. The system for subjects has been established for all three departments.

The Department of Media and Communication Studies, Targeting Computerized Society

The Department aims at cultivating individuals possessed of the foresight and ability to cope with turbulent changes in society and the development of information technology along with the ability to comprehend the modes of existence of 21st C. media society, based on knowledge of media theory and sociological principles. In the Department, students choose from the Media Society Program, Media Culture Program and International Society Program, and study better modes of existence for media and society through development of media literacy (information dissemination skills making use of media). In the Media Expression Practicum and Media Analysis Practicum, students actually experience creation of contents and analysis.